grey menu divider
Home Page
About IPSR
Research Centers
Kansas Data
Grant Support
KU Ent. Works for KS
Search IPSR
grey menu divider

IPSR is a Green Office

Work Group on Food Studies

The Center for the Study of Injustice and the Center for Environmental Policy at IPSR are coordinating a new KU Work Group on Food Studies. All members of the KU and Haskell communities with scholarly and activist interests in food studes, food justice, and agriculture are welcome.

If you have any further questions about the working group, please contact Dietrich Earnhart ( or Hannah Britton (


Educator advocates for informing students of how dietary choices influence larger issues
KU News - 1/30/2017

Douglas County Community Links

Douglas County Sustainability

Douglas County Food Policy Council

City of Lawrence Sustainability

Facebook Logo Lawrence & Douglas County Sustainability Facebook Page

Working Group Research

NSF awarded $43,025 for a symposium on Innovations at the Nexus of Food, Energy, and Water (INFEWS). The symposium was titled “Research and Triple Bottom Line Design Strategies: Two Means to a Sustainable Environment.” The workshop was held between January 21, 2016, and January 23, 2016.

KU Red Hot Research - October 23, 2015: Food Research, Policy and Implementation

  • Dietrich Earnhart, Economics, Corporate Sustainability in the Food Sector
  • Paul Stock, Sociology/Environmental Studies Program, New and (Good?) Farmers
  • Helen Schnoes, Food Systems Coordinator, Douglas County, Local Food System Development
  • Elizabeth Stigler, Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies, Ethnic Food Studies
  • Emcee: Hannah Britton, Political Science

Working Group Members

Chris Brown, Geography and Atmospheric Science and Environmental Studies

Audrey Coleman, Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics

Dietrich Earnhart, Economics and Director of Center for Environmental Policy

William Elliott, School of Social Welfare

Ada Emmett, KU Libraries

Sarah D’Antonio, Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics

Mary Kate Dennis, School of Social Welfare

Rebekah Gaston, Kansas Appleseed

Mugur Geana, Journalism and Mass Communications

Jane Gibson, Anthropology

Sara Gregg, History and Environmental Studies

Joseph Heppert, Chemestry and Associate Vice Chancellor, Office of Research

Bonnie Johnson, Urban Planning

Jay Johnson, Geography and Director of Center for Indigenous Research, Science, and Technology (C-FIRST)

Kelly Kindscher, Environmental Studies

Barbara Lilyhorn, Reno County Department of Public Transportation & Aging

Kate Lorenz, Institute for Policy and Social Research

Steven Maynard-Moody, School of Public Affairs and Administration and Director of Institute for Policy & Social Research

Katrina McClure, Geography

Steve Padget, Architecture

Eric Rath, History

Suzanne Rice, Education Leadership and Policy Studies

Paola Saguinetti, Architecture

Hyunjin Seo, Journalism and Mass Communications

Surendra Singh, Business

Ruth Stamper, Sociology

William Staples, Sociology and Director of the Surveillance Studies Research Center

Elizabeth Stigler, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Paul Stock, Sociology

Rachel Vaughn, UCLA Center for the Study of Women and Department of Gender Studies

Stacey Swearingen White, Urban Planning

Mary Zimmerman, Health Policy & Management

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).