grey menu divider
Home Page
About IPSR
Research Centers
Kansas Data
Grant Support
KU Ent. Works for KS
Search IPSR
grey menu divider

IPSR is a Green Office

Center for Environmental Policy

The Center for Environmental Policy seeks to understand the forces driving the formulation and implementation of environmental policies and the effects of these policies on the regulated community and other relevant decision-makers, in addition to other types of environmental protection efforts. Center-sponsored research projects focus primarily on humans' decisions, thus, the projects draw strongly upon the expertise of social scientists while adding the expertise of other disciplines, such as law, engineering, history, and a variety of natural and physical sciences.

Current Projects

The Center is currently leading two working groups on particular environmental topics: climate change and water quality protection and coordinating with the Center for the Study of Injustice on the KU Work Group on Food Studies.

Additionally, the Center is home to the Biofuels and Climate Change: Farmers' Land Use Decisions (BACC: FLUD) project, with funding from the Kansas NSF EPSCoR program. The BACC:FLUD project aims to research farmers’ decisions to grow crops as feedstocks for renewable energy production ("biofuel crops"), and farmers' adaptation to climate change.


Dr. Dietrich Earnhart, Director, Professor of Economics

Faculty affiliated with the Center for Environmental Policy include:

Dr. J. Christopher Brown, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies Program
Dr. Dorothy Daley, Department of Political Science and Environmental Studies Program
Dr. Keith Diaz Moore, Architecture
Dr. Johannes J. Feddema, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies Program
Dr. Jane W. Gibson, Department of Anthropology
Virginia Harper Ho, J.D., University of Kansas School of Law
Dr. Eric Hanley, Department of Sociology
Dr. Bonnie J. Johnson, School of Architecture and Urban Planning
Dr. Jay T. Johnson, Department of Geography
Dr. David Mechem, Department of Geography, Director of Indigenous Geographies Research Center
Dr. Joane Nagel, Department of Sociology, Director of Center for Research on Global Change
Dr. Shannon O'Lear, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies Program
Uma Outka, J.D., University of Kansas School of Law
Dr. Belinda S. McSwain Sturm, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Dr. Stacey Swearingen White, School of Architecture and Urban Planning and Environmental Studies Program

Past Events

IPSR Research Luncheon: Environmental Justice Panel
May 4, 2012, 11:45 - 1:00 PM in 210 Blake Hall
Approaching environmental justice within two of the Provost's strategic initiatives: “Sustaining the Planet, Powering the World” and “Building Communities, Expanding Opportunities” as part of a multi-center effort.

Presented by:
Joane Nagel, Distinguished Professor, Department of Sociology
Jay Johnson, Assistant Professor, Department of Geography
Dietrich Earnhart, Professor, Department of Economics
Byron Caminero-Santangelo, Associate Professor, Department of English
Dorothy Daley, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university's programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access,, Room 1082, Dole Human Development Center, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas medical center campuses).